Do you agree or disagree with the following statement For students the ability to listen well is as important as the ability to read well

When learning a language, most master their ability to read first, rather than focusing on both. However, I believe that listening is an important key to mastering a language and should be taken as seriously as reading.

First, the ability to comprehend daily conversations and talks relies on their ability to listen well. Since a language is often spoken rather than written, it is crucial for a student to be proficient at listening. In addition, many slang or colloquial use of language are only found in conversations, rather than books and essays. Frequently listening to different dialogues can help students overcome the challenge of not understanding the usage of the language.

If students can listen well, they can pick up the ability to speak well quicker and easier. Listening to a language lets students practice the pronunciation and intonations in their minds. They can hear the flow of a sentence or the emphasis and stresses on a certain word that cannot be seen in written language. These exercises will help them to speak the language fluently in the future. Therefore, it is essential for students to listen well to be fluent in a language.

Being able to listen well also helps students understand various accents. While on paper it is always spelled the same, a word might sound completely different when spoken with another accent. Since not every speaker of the language will have articulate pronunciation, listening exercises the students’ ability to understand the language even when facing multiple accents.

Listening not only gives students the opportunity to practice comprehension of talks and conversations, but also lets them understand the overall flow and musicality of a language spoken, which could not be read otherwise. What is more, listening assists them in understanding different accents. In conclusion, the ability to listen should be held of equal importance as the ability to read.