Television does not give people an accurate view of human nature

In modern society, television can be a source of entertainment or information. However, we cannot always know the truth just from what television tells us, as the information comes from only a select number of people rather than diverse opinions.

Nowadays, many television channels have sponsors or corporations funding them, and in turn the sponsors often have a say in the content of the channel. This means that what they broadcast is what they want you to perceive the situation. For example, different news broadcasting companies may have opposite opinions on the same story, due to their sponsors’ interests. We can see that television may not be as objective as it may seem.

Another is that TV shows often play on stereotypes, instead of showing all aspects of a person character and personality. Actors with certain looks or characteristics are often chosen to act out a stereotype, such as people talking to the “foreign student” extremely slowly. As a matter of fact, these shows may cause people, especially children, to have biased and incorrect viewpoints on others. However, it is obvious that human nature is much more complex and diverse.

While television gives us an opportunity to see the lives of other people all over the world, its depiction of people is often not complete nor accurate, as they reveal to us only what they want us to perceive. In conclusion, I agree that television does not give people an accurate view of human nature.