Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more interested in politics today than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this day and age, the issue of whether students are more interested in politics today has become one of the most talked-about topics. The issue concerned remains controversial. Some people would like to hold a positive attitude, while others view it from an opposite perspective since students today are more stressed. As far as I'm concerned, I prefer to support the latter. There are some reasons and examples that can illustrate my point of view.

First of all, one of the most important reasons of my opinion is that nowadays students are under great pressures of study. With the acceleration of social development, students are facing fierce competition. They need to work hard to ensure a good grade, which places them under much more pressure than before. Under such circumstances, students might not have enough time and energy to pay attention to politics. What's more, the high stress might make it more likely for students to suffer from different kinds of health problems since many diseases are related to stress. As a result, there is no doubt that compared to many other things, students are more concerned about their health. For example, my younger brother is a high school student. **Everyday** he spends most of his time studying in order to get a good grade, leading him to have insufficient time to do some other things like reading news or surfing the Internet, which places him under little exposure to politics. Since he was really stressed, a few months ago, he suffered from some mental problems. Therefore he did not have enough time to pay attention to politics due to the need for sufficient rest.

In addition, no one would deny the fact that nowadays there are more and more interesting things like playing computer games and surfing the Internet that will be more likely to attract students. Compared to students before, nowadays students are exposed to much more attractive things, which will increase their interests and thus reduce their interest in politics. My elder brother's story is a good demonstration of this point. My elder brother is a university student. Before entering the university, he was not exposed to computer games and his only interest was to read news about politics. However, when he entered university, his parents bought him a new computer, which changed his interests entirely. After entering university, one of his classmates recommended some fantastic computer games to him. Since his new computer was really an advanced one, he could play almost all the computer games. As a result, he decided to have a try. However, after playing computer games for some time, he was really addicted to them and spent most of his time playing computer games. Eventually, he was really interested in computer games and lost his interest in politics.

In a nutshell, students today are less interested in politics not only because of the great pressures of study, but also because of the exposure to much more attractive things.