Do you agree or disagree, it is a waste of money for a government to fund space travel.

Space travel, an eternal dream pursued by many people, has been in the limelight recently and provoked a heated discussion centering on whether space travel is worth the investment. In many people's opinion, spending money on space travel is useless. Contrary to their views is my perspective that it is not a waste of money for a government to fund space travel. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following part.

What must be prioritized is that space travel places humans as beneficiaries. To be more specific, many space programs provide a lot of methods to solve problems, such as famine, on the Earth. Take China as an example. Shengzhou No.1, the first manned spacecraft in China, took various corn seeds to space in 2003, and two types of them doubled their yields after being exposed to space rays for two weeks. Later, these two kinds of seeds were brought back to the Earth and planted widely in China, and numerous people appreciated their good taste and high yields. Up to now, planting these seeds has been the most effective way to solve the problem of famine in Henan, a region with a huge population in the North of China. Therefore, I believe that space travel can benefit people a lot and is not a waste of money.

What is equally important is that space travel can boost the economy of a country. In detail, not only does space travel create numerous jobs, but it also generates tax income for the government. I can think of no better illustration than the statistic. NASA, an independent agency responsible for the space program in the United State, indicated in its 2021 economic impact report that NASA created more than 320,000 positions, such as engineers and industrial designers, and generated 7 billion tax income in America. The expert from NASA asserted that the investment, which was only 0.5% of the federal budget, was worthwhile due to the significant economic output annually. Accordingly, I reckon that it is not a waste of money for the government to fund space travel.

Admittedly, the government can also spend the budget on providing food for the poor or increasing the tax. However, those methods can not last long, and space travel is more likely to solve people's problems thoroughly due to the rich resources in space and the huge amounts of jobs and taxes it can create. Thus, I still hold the belief that it is not a waste of money for the government to fund space travel.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is not a waste of money for the government to fund space travel.