Do you agree or disagree with the statement: competition with friends usually has negative effects on friendships?

Nowadays, competition among friends has become the top concern in society. In many people's opinion, those competitions affect friendships negatively because only one person can win at last, which hurts their relationship a lot. Contrary to those people's idea is my perspective that competition with friends usually has positive effects on friendships. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following part.

What must be prioritized is that competitions, such as football matches and video games, make it possible for people to spend more time and have more fun with friends, which can strengthen their friendship. In detail, nowadays people are facing fierce competition at work and in schools, which places them under great pressure. Under such circumstances, people will spend less time with their friends and even lose them. There is no denying that holding some competitions between friends helps them relax, thus reducing their pressure, but also increasing the time they spend together, which will improve their relationship. For example, during my break time last week, I played basketball with my best friend Joey, who I had not talked to for a long time due to busy schoolwork. I communicated a lot with him during the process, and our relationship became closer. Therefore, I believe that competition with friends usually has positive effects on friendships.

What is equally important is that competitions with friends provide people with opportunities to achieve their goals together, which brings benefits to both of them, thus cementing their friendship. In detail, peer pressure from friends stimulates people to show their best performance, which helps them reach their goals more quickly. This reminds me of the story between my best friend Tom and me. Last year, both Tom and I successfully organized an auction during a P&G recruitment interview, which we only had 40 hours to prepare. Since we were in the same group, the peer pressure pushed both of us to try our best to design a strategy to make the auction items appreciate and develop a negotiating plan with the sponsors. Finally, both of us were highly recognized by the superior and transferred to formal employees. Thus, I reckon that competition with friends usually has positive effects on friendships.

In conclusion, I strongly think that competition with friends usually has positive effects on friendships because people can spend more time with friends and because competitions can help people achieve success together.