Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For students who are planning to work in business, learning about psychology is more important than learning about technology. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Business is a very complex area. It covers such important fields as economy, marketing, product development, business development and product design. Some people think that it is more meaningful to study psychological processes than technological if you plan to get a job in business. I agree with this statement because specifically in a business area a person should understand human behavior to analyze the advantages and disadvantages of the product.

First, marketing is a big part of any business development. Moreover, marketing uses some psychological tools. Qualitative or/and quantitative research is one of the main tools to release a new product and to achieve a level of estimated sales. According to a report of Economist, 3/4 of the small businesses that released their new product without making research on it, became bankrupt within a year after opening.

Second, business is a lot about sales. You have to understand who is your customer and why. It is important to offer what he is looking for. Psychology helps to understand human essential needs. For example, the book “People that play games” by Eric Burn shows a big analysis on the roles that every human being plays in a daily life. It gives better understanding what is a target audience.

Third, being a business person is being a leader. That’s why psychology is significant even for internal processes to give the employees rewards, motivation, and help. For instance, in my company when the CEO does not attend a conference meeting, the results are lower in comparison with those weeks when he gives a speech and his point of view.

To sum up, business is about working with people whether it is your customers or your employees. Psychological classes develop an understanding of how people react and act. I believe that in general, it is great knowing that we can use it in regular life.