Do you agree or disagree with the following statement. Success is based more on luck than on hard work.

There is no doubt that hard work can be equivalent to talent from the perspective that people who were not born with a specific talent can accomplish their goals by hard work. However, hard work is not the absolute factor in order to succeed. In my opinion it is necessary to take into account the importance of luck.

First of all, many scientific achievements were accidental. On many occasions scientists were doing their daily work when accidently discovered data of much greater importance. For example, two American physicists were working on a radio telescope with purpose to improve communication satellites when they observe the existence of the cosmic background radiation.

Secondly, sometimes success correlates highly with the ability to take profitable risks. For example, when one works on the management of a company he has the responsibility to decide future investments. Because he has to choose among a big variety of options the parameter of luck is inevitable. Since initially he won't know which option is most profitable.

Last but not least, in order to be distinguished you have to think out of the box. To be more specific, you have to be innovating in your field of study or work. Comparing the amount of people who are trying every day to be innovative or discover something new with the amount of people who achieve that we can imply that it is a difficult and rare to be accomplished task. Hence, you have to be lucky in order to think out of the box.

To summarize, I believe that my previous arguments demonstrate the contribution of luck in order to succeed.