Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For success in a future job, ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

People are always looking for ways of being successful in their jobs. Some people think they have to study hard in school in order to be successful. Others think the ability to relate well to people is the key to success. But, the reality is that these two factors are of equal importance.

For one thing, it is important to study hard in school because some knowledge can be achieved only by studying. Let's take a psychologist as an example. A psychologist might have the ability to relate well to people and actually this skill can help him a lot with his job, But still, he needs to know the science of psychology very well to help his patients. A lot of people avoid studying well in school and college because they think that their social skills are sufficient for their success. But when they start working they would face a lot of deficiencies and also they might cause problems to some of their patients or customers. In the previous example, the psychologist might lead his patient into suicide by giving wrong pieces of advice, therefore, studying hard is inevitable.

On the other hand, sheer studying would not necessarily contribute to our success. Another factor that is equally important is the social skill and in other words, the ability to relate well to people. Take a manager as an example. A manager might have a very authentic degree of management, but yet, might not be able to manage a company. Obviously, management is not feasible without an appropriate social ability. A manager confronts several challenges in a company, for example, the workers might protest and ask for more salary while the company is not in a favorable economic situation. At this point, the only leverage that the manager has is his ability to socially relate to people. The workers might perceive the adverse condition of the company by an appropriate speech. Thus, it is one thing to know the principals of management, but another to have the intuitive ability of management.

All in all, in order to be successful, not only should people study hard in school but also they should improve their social abilities. These two factors are the two keys for success and are of equal importance.