Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the main responsibilities of governments is to allocate budget to different organizations and activities. They should prioritize the organizations and support each of them in terms of vitality. Whether governments should spend the same amount of money on the arts as they spend on athletics or not, has always aroused controversy among society. In my opinion athletics are as important as arts and should have similar amount of support. There are numerous reasons why I have this opinion and I will explore a few of the most important ones here.

For one thing, an undeniable fact is that the arts and athletics both are representatives of a countries development. These two are the media where a country can express it's ability and progression. Olympics games are not only chances for athlets to show their skills but also are opportunities for countries to show their achievements. When a countries football team wins the olymipic football match, it shows that the country has has the best organization, management, financial support, and development to achieve that success. So, athletics and art are of equal importance and should gain equal support.

Furthermore, art in somehow a mental exercise while athletics are physical exercise and our lives without each of them will not be secure. That is because people need both mental and physical health to be able to work and achieve success. Allocating the same amount of money to these two fields means that we emphasize on both equally, especially today that people have almost forgotten the importance of exercise and healthcare. A study has shown that although healthcare technology has improved and people have new methods of curing duseases, people's life expectancy today has decreased compared with the people who lived hundreds of years ago without any technology. The possible explanation might be the fact that people have more sedentary lives and less physical activity today. Therefore, governments' support for athletics can be helpful to some extent.

Overall, of cource the arts is important because it shows thoughts and beliefs of the people in a country and needs support. however, I can not admit that it should have more support than athletics. Without any reservation, athletics are required to ensure a countries healthcare and welfare.