Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For success in school and work, the ability to adapt or adjust to a changing condition or circumstance is more important than having excellent knowledge of a job or in a field of study.

Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

A variety of factors are at play when it comes to success: knowledge, professional skills, characters, among others. In this regard, parents and teachers who consider themselves to be much wiser and more experienced would always advise the younger generations to spare no efforts to acquire as much knowledge as possible. Yet, the way I see it, the ability to adapt oneself to changes, either academically or professionally, is of greater significance than being equipped with a profound knowledge. I feel this way based on the following reasons.

First, let’s take a look at the case of students. Suppose that a teenager has just graduated from senior high school and is about to attend college in a different city. There will just be too many changes and challenges that she has to learn to cope with: how to take good care of herself without depending on her beloved parents, how to stay confident and strive to overachieve when most of her classmates can easily outperform her in class, how to smoothly walk out of her comfort zone and strike up friendships with her roommates whose living habits and ways of thinking are in stark contrast to hers. If she could handle all such changes in a calm and smooth way, she would find it not difficult to maintain a good health in a strange city, keep an outstanding academic record throughout her college years, and become popular among her peers. Eventually, she might have a big shot at graduating as the class valedictorian.

The same goes for white-collar workers. When an employee in his early twenties starts his very first day at a company, he has to learn to adjust himself to the working environment distinct from the campus and thus alien to him; when a young employee is transferred to another department at his company, he has to learn to familiarize himself with all his new assignments and everyone else in the new office area, be they his superiors or inferiors; when a young adult who has been working as an English teacher decides to quit and tries to work in the finance industry, he has to face the music and then start from scratch, exerting himself to learn everything required for his new field. Hardly would anyone fail to see that without the ability of adapting himself to all such changes in the workplace, a young employee would be struggling to manage just fine, not to mention climbing up the corporate ladder.

I am not suggesting that having a vast knowledge, either at school or at work, is of no use to one’s success at all. More often than not, it is those students who possess the most knowledge that could earn the highest scores in the examinations. It is those employees who have a deep understanding and a keen perception in their fields that could surpass their peers and become respected and well-paid professionals. Be that as it may, being knowledgeable does not necessarily provide one with a ticket to success. A knowledgeable student who is easily overwhelmed by changes and reluctant to walk out of his comfort zone would not make continuous progress academically. Likewise, a knowledgeable young adult who could not roll with the punches would find it rather challenging to just keep up along his professional road.

In a nutshell, to those young individuals who are striving to achieve academic or professional success, I would suggest that more emphasis should be put on developing the ability to adjust oneself than on gaining knowledge.