For success in school and work the ability to adapt or adjust to a changing condition or circumstance is more important than having excellent knowledge of a job or a field to study

For many people who have just stepped into new careers, they are usually anxious to find out the key to success. The debate over whether being able to adapt to various environments is the key to success rather than carrying outstanding knowledge of a specific field is still fierce. Some may suggest that having excellent knowledge of a job is the crucial point to success. However, I hold this view differently. I believe that adaptation to changing environments is the precondition to success.

To begin with, people who can stand out from changing circumstances always means they have knowledge of different fields, which is critical to success. Due to the increasing personal expense, companies increasingly require multi-skilled employees, enabling them to show outstanding performance in one area. For example, a graduate who majored in economics is needed not only to have experts in math and economics but also to master history and psychology, whereby they can create a correct model and predict the tendency of the market. Similarly, food marketing people need both marketing strategies and some economic and nutritional knowledge so they are more possibly to persuade their target consumers to buy products.

Admittedly, having excellent knowledge has its own advantages. People need to have enough expertise to do some work competently. Nevertheless, People who only focus on their job can never achieve success as a team. Most of the work today has to be done in cooperation with coworkers. People who are able to adapt to changing environments can familiarize themselves with other people quickly and start work more smoothly. Further, according to a recent study conducted by Harvard University, a survey about the most important quality people need in work has been surveyed by five hundred office workers. The study has shown that fifty-eight percent of people chose adaptation, and there are only fifteen percent of people picked expertise.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly better to adapt to changing conditions than to have excellent knowledge of a job for the reasons mentioned above.