Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn. Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Teachers are the backbone of society. Therefore it is important to consider a teacher’s salary as they also need to live and run a family. Learning is infinite but should teachers be paid according to how much their students learn? In my opinion, teachers shouldn’t be paid according to how much pupils acquire facts. I will try to demonstrate my point in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, each student has their own pace. Some students may understand a new topic in one class while others may need more assistance. My classmate, Sarah is deaf and she has trouble understanding lectures whereas I understand everything in the first class. Does that mean that my teacher should be paid more because I learn more or less because Sarah gains inadequate knowledge?

It is difficult to quantify knowledge and equally grueling to quantify how much a student learns from a teacher. Some students are curious, they have a thirst for knowledge and they try to quench it by taking myriad classes or doing more research. While teachers do impart knowledge to their pupils, some pupils are bright and may strive to work harder with teachers. I have a friend who loves mathematics. He took extra classes with our mathematics teacher and decided to compete in the Mathematics Olympiad. For that he had to learn new equations and topics and he got full backup from his teacher. Just because he learnt more than I did doesn’t mean he paid a higher fee in school. He took the initiative to learn more and acquire new information.

Finally, we should think about ethical principles. What if you’re a teacher? Would you charge more/less if your student learnt more/less? A students’ financial condition should also be considered. If a student came from an underprivileged family, it wouldn’t be fair to charge him more just because he learnt more from you. His family might make ends meet and work hard to give him an education, hence as a teacher it would be morally wrong to take advantage from your pupil.

To sum it up, teachers should not be given their wages based on what their learners acquire; instead they should be given a salary based on their own knowledge and experience of teaching.