Some items (such as clothes or furniture) can be made by hand or by machine. Which do you prefer - items made by hand or items made by machine? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your choice.

The advent of technology had major impacts on various manufacturing zones. Ever since there has been a competition between hand made or machine made businesses. This essay will explore the merits of machine-made furniture and explain the three benefits of economics, accuracy and being high-tech.

There is a common ground that producing furniture is an industrious and meticulous process in which the manufacturer spends an enormous amount of time. The sum of the amount of time and effort put on the design and fabrication process is tantamount to the cost of the final product. However, the manufacturers in the digital process use machines such as CNC and KUKA which had a major impact on the furniture industry. They work as sufficient as possible and spend less time, as against humans which leads to the less overall cost of the machine-made furniture in contrast to hand made ones. Moreover, fastidiousness and accuracy in the fabrication process leading to a drop in materials which is one of the major merits of technology.

Also, using technology leads to accuracy in every scale of the project. Each piece of furniture has different measures and details. In parallel, computers and robots which have exactness will be one of the great benefits in the manufacturing process. For instance, we had to design and fabricate a lamp for one of our university projects. We had to model the 3D lamp in the computer with exact measures and angles and then use a 3D printer to fabricate it. The conversion between the 3D modeling software and printer was an essential and demanding part of the project that needed a meticulous mind to match perfectly. Therefore, there was no room for any kind of error or mistake and at last the product looked perfect and without any flaws.

Last but not least, high-tech products have various interesting options which are developing every day in the world of technology. For instance, using machine-learning features in the design process make the products advantageous in many ways. As an example, lately some designers in their research project have created a chair based on the physics of the people who sit on it and the form of the product is changing constantly. Consequently, they made a huge step in the world of technology and industrial design. Moreover, high-tech projects need to meet high standards and guidelines which make them even better products.

To sum up, technology has major impacts on the cost, the preciseness and creative use of technology of the product. Therefore, machine-made furniture and product is a suitable option for many people.