A gift (such as a camera, a soccer ball, or an animal) can contribute to a child’s development. What gift would you give to help a child develop? Why?

The history of mankind's initial connection with domesticated animals has long been debated, but discoveries of humans buried with their pets show a thousand of years history. Today many families love their pets and consider them one of the members of their own family. Whether a cat, dog, parrot or a fish the benefits of giving them as a gift to children are beneficial and have major impacts on their personalities. Children could learn to take responsibilities, grow as a caring person and form a good friendship with their pets.

Nowadays, parents are working from morning to evening and they cannot spend an appropriate amount of time with their children, Although they want to make sure their children grow up learning to take responsibilities. According to studies, giving pets to children will make them learn to take responsibility and make decisions by themselves. Besides, these studies suggest that before choosing the pet it is better to take the age, gender, and personality of the children into consideration. For instance, researches state that it is better to buy a fish or a turtle for young aged kids. I remember when I was five years old, my father bought a duck for my older brother and I. We learned to how to schedule our days together to take the duck outside, feed it and wash it in a young age. If my father hadn't bought the duck for us, we would spend our summer watching TV and playing video games together and we would have never learned how to take responsibility for raising a duck.

In addition, there is a common ground that pets become great friends and companions for kids. Unconditional love is rare in life, but it is surprisingly common among pets. Kids tend to talk a lot to animals and this could become one of the merits of buying an animal as a gift for them since nowadays families usually have one child and most of the time when they are not at school, they might feel lonely. This is when a pet could be extremely helpful. I remember my brother and I used to spend a lot of time with the duck every day.

Last but not least, kids want their pets to be in good condition and they do all they could to make it happen. They want to know when their pet is hungry, when it needs to sleep and when it needs to go outside and play. They learn what is empathy and how to have it. For example, we learned that the duck did not want to stay outside when it went dark thus If the sun set, we would take the duck to its cage immediately. We learned to read the pet's needs. Moreover, empathy is the one skill that can be taught and a skill that bullies often lack.

In conclusion, learning to take responsibility, precious companionships, and learning to have empathy are three out of many plus points that buying pets could have. Although affordability, health and emergency issues, and choosing a trustworthy breeder are just a part of the challenges that buying a pet could create, I think a pet is a great gift for a kid.