Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I totally disagree with that idea, but it seems to me that it depends on each society and it's trends and culture that whether people appreciate and value teachers more in the past or not. I hold this opinion because of several reasons. First, I believe that nowadays people appreciate teachers and value them more than before and they spend plenty of their money on their children's school, so, it benefits teachers indirectly. Second, it the past, most of the people were not educated and they did not prefer to go to school, thus people did not pay attention to teachers in comparison to today.

According to my point of view, people nowadays are grateful for their children's teachers more than before, because they know that their children imitate their teachers beliefs and behavior, therefore, people are willing to spend a lot of money to enroll their children in private and elaborate schools, which might have positive impacts on teachers. In contrast, in the past, people usually were not familiar with educational systems and they did not precisely aware that whats the teachers role in development of society. Consequently, they did not care about teachers let alone appreciate them.

Moreover, because most of the past generations were illiterate, they were not so eager to go to school and usually they did not think about teachers in their community. For instance, my grandfather used to tell me that when he was child, his father did not allow him to participate in public communities specifically schools, because he contended that teachers do not teach students practical and beneficial things, instead, they waste students time by learning them trivial lessons, which are not applicable in routine life. So, my grandfather's father was against to teachers and school. But nowadays parents encourage and motivate their children to go to school and pay attention to their teachers, because parents think that teachers are children's paragon.

In general, as far as I am concerned, today people admire skillful and experienced teachers more than before, because they know than teachers can secure their future by learning them profitable lessons.