Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Through the human history, people have always shown the respect to their own or their children's teachers, but in different ways and levels. Personally, I agree that in the past teachers were more appreciated, than their colleagues in these days. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, there were very few and limited masters in societies before, and almost there were no replacement for each of them. When something, including a specific professional, a certain commodity, and so on, is limited in number it has naturally more value in view of customers and users. Nowadays, however, many educated persons are known as a teacher which makes them not so much special. Parents are aware that they can always find another teacher for their student childs, and are not dependent on one of them.

Second of all, in the past, being a educator was not an official vocation, which means that were not paid regularly. Although some people which were capable and rich gave money to their children's master, but it was occasionally and as a voluntarily donation. Today, on the other hand, some persons are teacher as their source of income, and have a salary paid by government, meaning people taxes, or private school which charges parents every year. As a result, society to some extent considered teachers as a employees who do their job in order to make a living. So, they received less value than the teachers in past did.

In conclusion, I om of the opinion that currently individuals value the ones who teach people, less than past societies did. That is because the number of teachers has raised significantly, and also because in past years some of them did that work almost for free and without any expectation of being paid.