More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems overreliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

While in the past there were limited cars and only wealthy people could own one, today because of significant increase in number of cars produced and sold every year, most adults afford buying a car. This attitude toward using personal cars has led to some immense problems, such as air contamination, and urban trafic. But there are also practical measures to handle these issues.

First of all, as all news are declaring, the atmosphere of cities, especially mega cities, are so polluted because of the gas emitted from factories and cars. So many people get diseases and even die each year because of breathing such an unhealthy air. My experience is a compelling example of this. My father, who has never smoked in his life, got lung cancer last year, and since then is doing chemotherapy. Doctors said that this sickness is caused just because living in an over-populated city, Tehran, with harmful air situation.

Second dire consequences of being dependent on private cars is the heavy trafic in cities. Today, almost all streets, and even highways are full of cars. citizens have to spend lots of their daily time driving in the street, which makes them angry and tired. Moreover, there will be less free time for them to spend with family, go to parties, or to relax at home.

Although increasing personal cars in streets causes serious and fatal problems, improving this issue is feasible to some extent. imposing higher taxes on cars is one of them. Furthermore, promoting public transportations and motivating people to use them instead of their own car could help cities triumph over those obstacles. For instance, government should encourage employees to go to office by bus or subway, through giving them free tickets.

In conclusion, it should be borne in mind that the people's tendency to use cars for almost all daily works and purposes results in contaminating the environments, as well as wasting time in crowded streets. Some actions could be done by different organizations in order to stop this trend and its inappropriate consequences. raising the car taxes, and stimulating individuals to travel by public vehicles are two of those doable measures.