Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

While in the past there was fewer waste produced at homes, today because the world population has raised significantly, huge amount of domestic waste is being produced every single day. Personally, I believe that introducing legislations cannot cause a remarkable jump in the rate of recycling by itself. I feel this way for two reasons.

First of all, laws are not capable to force people to do something in their private spaces, including their own home. Obviously, executing the laws needs observing and controling people who must obey. It is not possible to watch people in their houses, and even if it was, it is a violation of freedom. As a result, the legal requirements might not be performed by majority of people. My experience is a compelling example of this. For many years, it was forbidden to drink alcohols in my country. people were fined if police catch them drinking in every possible places. But consequently, according to reports people were drinking in their homes, even more than countries which people were allowed to.

Second of all, although some legislations would eventually become a part of a nation's culture, but it is not true for all cases. Individuals may obey the rules as much as they have to, but most of the time once that rule is eliminated, they will do what was prohibited, again. So, if governments tend to alter citizens' behaviour permanently, alternative measures should be taken into account. For instance, they can encourage people to deliver their house waste separately, which is needed for a proper recycling process, through giving them free commodities instead, such as books.

On the other hand, it should be noticed that regulations direct social attitudes and accelerate the alteration toward a more suitable trend. It is not realistic to think that only by advertisment and giving prizes we can obtain all persons' attention and motivate them to co-operate in recycling process. A fair law is able to ease that.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that although rules are always necessary to stop society from its inappropriate behaviour, but they can just help as a complementary action. In this special subject, it is not doable to control individuals at their private space, and also it might not lead to a permanent change in attitude.