Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Telephone has more effects on people’s lives than television does.

Most people believe that television has a great impact on daily life. However, I consider it a misunderstanding. Actually, people of different ages have different answers to the question. Young people, generation Z, especially, rely on phones much more than on TV, while older people are more likely to be influenced by TV rather than by cell phones.

Most young people cannot live without cell phones, but they will not feel the same about television. The young are either studying at school or working at the company, so they will have to get connected with their classmates, teacher, friends, or bosses. Missing an important phone call or text message might be unacceptable to young people, because they may miss a critical event or a working opportunity. However, most young people do not watch TV frequently. Two main reasons for people watching TV are to acquire information and to entertain, and it is obvious that the young have better ways to get the information they need and more exciting ways to have fun. Young people prefer to acquire information on the internet if they want to learn things, for the information on the internet is more accurate and updated. For entertainment, young people usually go to bars or play sports, for that cell phones are also indispensable to make an appointment and pay the bill. Young people's lives relies heavily on cell phones, yet television never plays an important role in their daily life.

For older people, the cell phone is no longer a daily activity but watching TV almost happens every day. Aged people no longer work, nor do they go to school. So there is no need for them to touch many people frequently. The only people they want to contact are their family members, who come back home regularly. Furthermore, older people would prefer to talk face to face rather than communicate through the cell phone, for sometimes, they cannot hear clearly on the phone. On the contrary, TV seems to be the best friend and companion to most elderly people. It helps them get in touch with the world and kill too much leisure time. Most elderly people do not surf the internet to get information, thus TV programs are supposed to be the best way for them to know what is happening around the globe. Since they have a whole day to spend at home alone if their children are working in companies or studying at school, watching TV programs serves as a time-killing activity with which they will not feel lonely and bored. For older people, a wonderful TV set is much more important than a smartphone.

It is obvious that people with different expectations will have different choices. The influences of the TV and cell phones may differ as users' ages change.