Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Advertisement to my understanding is the techniques and practices used to bring products, services, opinions, or causes to public notice for the purpose of persuading the public to respond in a certain way toward what is being advertised. Now, advertisements directed toward young children, aged two to five is a debate whether it should be allowed or not. Some groups will say it should be allowed, others will say it should not be allowed. But, I am in support of the idea that it should be allowed with the following facts.

Firstly, there are some things parents can’t teach their children most times, I know it is the duty of the parents to guide their children, but in many cases, there are pieces of information through the means of advertisements, children aged 2 – 5 can learn by themselves. Critics will say; that those children are underage, and cannot discern whether those pieces of information are healthy or not for them, and it is the duty of their parents to decide what their children should watch on television or listen on the radio, but I quote them wrong because, children at age 2 – 5 are in our kindergartens, they are there to learn from their teachers and with the knowledge that they have acquired from their kindergarten teachers, they can to pass their tests or exams at their school levels, if what they say is true, why then should those children aged 2 – 5 be allowed go to kindergarten?.

Secondly, during the pandemic, everyone was at home including our children, schools were shut down and most of the adolescents and adults were having online classes or communicating with their teachers with their smartphones or computers, but our underaged children were left out because they, at their age cannot be able to use smartphones or computers to communicate well with their teachers. With the means of advertisement which is also a method to encourage people on safety drive, to advise people on healthy eating habit, etc. can also be used as a means to advertise some vital pieces of information that are healthy for our underaged children to keep them alive with the happenings around them, healthy eating habit, etc., and I believe that children should be allowed to watch certain advertisement themselves as long as those advertisements are healthy for them.

Finally, children at the age, 2 – 5, are still too small to discern some important information, but not all information, there are pieces of information which are directly made for children, for example, cartoons and such like, which most parents do allow their children to watch freely, can be designed as advertisement directed to young children aged 2 – 5 as a means of communicating some vital pieces of information for young children, which they can also discern themselves as they do with the aforementioned example.

In summary, it is evidential that withholding children from certain television advertisements is not healthy for their mental health, children should be allowed to television advertisement as long as those advertisements are healthy for them, and it is also the duty of the parents to know exactly what their children are watching on TV.