Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Ever since the dawn and inevitably explosive popularity of different forms of media, more importantly the digital kind (e.g. televisions), companies and organizations have increasingly invested in various forms of advertisement in order to drive their profits as much as possible. This pursuit of wealth has not been without its fair share of controversies, and this particular topic touches on one of these dilemmas, whether advertisement targeted towards young children should be allowed. In the following essay, I will present the reasons on why this activity not only contains moral/ethical issues, but also that it would affect the normal growth pattern of its audience.

Young children, due to their still-developing brain, are highly impressionable and lacking in understanding contextual themes. Being impressionable is essential to ensure proper mental flourishment upon receiving information from educational sources. This particular trait is the reason for moral concerns, because alongside creating a path to development, being impressionable also leaves children vulnerable, and this is where my point of contention with advertising towards them comes from. Simply put, a human being at such a young age is not able to discern between right and wrong. If an advertisement program depicts an act that would be considered wrong outside of said program and in the society; say, an advert for an alcoholic beverage brand associating the act of drinking with enjoyable activities, it could paint the wrong picture in the child’s mind due to their lack of ability to process context properly. Not only this, but they may also decide to act on these misguided viewpoints due to the malleability of their minds. Using the previous example, a young child might assume that drinking in any capacity could bring happiness and not grasp the fact that moderation in consumption is implied.

Secondly, it has been proven via many scientific analyses that media consumption has a profound effect on one’s mind, and that this effect is multiplied when touching on the subject of younger children. As mentioned, a flexible mind is a defining characteristic of children which may lead to developmental deficiencies. The future lives of kids are created in their adolescent years, where they are most capable of processing and learning novel concepts. With this in mind, why must their future lives be stripped of prospect by exposure to meaningless and futile or even harmful advertising programs? Verbal and social skills are two examples of abilities that may not come to fruition due to excess usage of TV, which most certainly contain adverts with their own subtexts, as a parenting aid.

In conclusion and as stated in the above paragraphs, advertisement towards younger children should be banned or at the least highly restricted due to the readily apparent ethical and developmental issues, and one should never fail to remember that companies and ads do not care for the well-being of their audience, but rather the amount of money they can provide.