Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Today's media (TV, newspapers, and magazines, for example) offer a lot of information on many topics, but people do not use this information to really learn something thoroughly and in depth. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In today's world, where technology is so advanced and is improving by the day, we are bombarded by a plethora of information of various kinds and from multiple sources, such as social media, radio, television, newspaper and so on. How people use this information changes from person to person.

We live in an era that is extremely face-paced and to keep pace with it, we need to move quickly too. People nowadays are too busy and have too much to worry about to care about thoroughly reading new topics and going in-depth with new research and news regularly. For instance, people may only read the headline of a breaking news or at most skim the article. They do not have time to read the entire article and have more important things to do. They know that they can get more insight on the topic by discussion with friends and family members, as the subject would inevitably arise if it is breaking news or a significant discovery.

However, school and university students make greater use of the topics covered by news sites. These facilitate writing out essays, thesis and carrying out case studies. Students need to read the articles in depth and analyze it for their assignment. It is crucial that they research the topics and learn from them in order to produce high quality work.

In short, the fact that people do not learn topics in depth cannot be applied to everyone. A person who works full time or is a parent cannot be expected to have enough time to pore over information. On the other hand, it is incumbent on students to avail of this abundance of information for their benefit. All in all, the amount of time someone spends on studying a certain topic depends on their circumstances.