A foreign visitor has to spend only one day in your country Where should that visitor go on that day Why Use specific reason and details to support your choice

A foreigner would wish to visit all the highly promoted tourist destinations in a country, but as many of these spots can be found elsewhere, such as theme parks or malls, it may not be worth visiting such places. I believe that visitors should always explore places that represent the culture and history of a particular country. So instead of recommending common tourist attractions, I would suggest tourists to visit the heart of the city of Jeddah, Al-Balad.

Balad happens to be the oldest part of the city and has been overlooked until very recently, since the government has decided to preserve its history. It is the path that pilgrims took on their journey to Makkah in the olden days. This site is also a World Heritage site making it worth a visit.

Visiting Balad is like stepping inside a time portal. People can view the restored buildings with their intricate lattice windows and walls inscribed with calligraphy. Some of the houses have been turned into museums so that visitors can see how people lived in this region in the past. You can also buy souvenirs here which are unlike what you have seen before.

If people are worried about the scorching heat which Saudi Arabia is notorious for, they should fear not as air conditioners are functional indoors at all times and care is taken to reduce the impact of the weather. Nonetheless, the best time to visit here is a few hours before sunset when the city comes alive and it is cool enough to wander outside. This is the best time to observe the daily lives of the locals as well.

Besides the beautiful architecture and rich history, this is the best location to find the most authentic and delicious local food. Saudi cuisine is known as one of the best in the world, so I would urge all tourists to at least try it once. They can have a chance to dine with locals and visit local style and quirky cafes and restaurants. You will find universal favorites, such as Falafel and Tabbouleh, as well as lesser known underrated meals as well.

To sum up, Balad would be my first choice when recommending a destination to a foreigner because it is a World Heritage site and for good reasons too. It is brimming with art and history which is almost non-existent in touristy spots. Visitors can have a chance to visit museums, observe the everyday lives of locals and enjoy one of the best cuisines in the world.