Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

As an age-old aphorism goes, “it is not what you say, but how you say it”. Effective communication is imperative to the success of the teamwork no matter in school life or in workplace. Thus, while emails have been the most widely used tool for communication today, co-workers should keep face-to-face communication for better work output.

Admittedly, emails seem to be an efficient and easy way for colleagues to exchange information, especially when issuing notice to all team members. Instead of gathering together in person, what everyone needs is just to check their mailbox and read the email. This helps avoid the possible troubles, such as traveling to the other end of the city, adjusting the hectic schedule to make it available for meeting. Communicating by emails is therefore deemed as a shortcut of daily communication in workplace, which allows colleagues to put more time in project itself rather than other irrelevant issues.

However, during the project, there might be more two-way interactions that have time urgency. In such situation, sending emails is not a good move. When a fast response is needed, it is really annoying and time-wasting to wait for the recipients to check the email and make response. Thus, rather than sending emails back and forth, talking with someone in person could be more efficient. For example, when making plans for the project, the members might just need a twenty minutes' discussion face to face to negotiate every detail, but it possibly takes a whole day to settle each part down if they have to communicate by e-mails.

Moreover, for the quality of communication, team members are suggested to have more face-to-face interactions. It is inevitable that a lot of information can get lost in translation when being conveyed by emails. However, when having contact in person, people could not only get a clear understanding of verbal information but also pick up all the implications expressed in speakers' body language. Compared with just reading an “OK” in email, direct eye contact and nodding head could tell more about whether the colleagues could really reach a consensus. Once being aware of potential disagreement, the members are able to make adjustment immediately to ensure everyone to comply with the shared target and to make wholehearted dedication. Also, in some cases, writing emails is rather restricted in informing some complicated issues, especially for those with poor formal writing skills. Instead, having a discussion in reality, people could ask questions and get immediate explanation, which avoids misunderstanding and ensures the accuracy of communication. All of these do push forward the project in progress smoothly.

In conclusion, for some one-way information transmission, email is regarded as the first choice for most of team members, while to guarantee the efficiency for project planning and decision making as well as to avoid the misunderstanding and inaccuracy, communication in person should be advocated.