Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

New technologies provide us the opportunity of more quick communication with our partners in work or study places through ways like e-mails. Regardless of this benefit, It may sometimes cause some misunderstanding or confusion. I prefer to send and receive my work-related messages directly in person instead of sending them via e-mail. There are two reasons why I subscribe to this idea which are separately elaborated hereunder.

First, Using indirect means of communication like e-mail always has the risk of misconception. I feel this way because no one can add intonations, that have the capability to alter the meaning, to the message. As a result, it may convey a false tone to our receiver. Take a personal experience as an example, one of my colleagues asked me by e-mail to fill out the excel sheets of daily data that he previously created himself. But, I didn't get the meaning correctly and begin to prepare those sheets from the beginning. This miscommunication wasted lots of my time and had no results at all. On the contrary, if he asked me in person, there was the possibility to see my concern about the hard work needed. Therefore he would explain the request clearly.

Second, with direct contact, there is faster feedback available and this repeated feedbacks leads to more modification of the project. Normally, each project has a time plan or schedule that shows the importance of time management during the process. So, anything that can reduce the time is very valuable. I believe that when members of a group that working with each other talk in person, they answer each other's questions very faster and improve their ways of performing tasks quickly. In my personal experience, one of my former colleagues was checking his inbox very late and we were always waiting for his response. To explain more, you can compare the efficiency of virtual classes during covid-19 pandemics with real classes that were held before. It is harder for both teachers and students to teach and learn in this way since the communication is not effective and more boring. Also, there isn't a good space to ask and answer the raised questions. Similarly, working in separate places with e-mail contacts has the same lower efficiency.

In conclusion, during a project, if workers have the chance to communicate in person, their results will be more accurate and take less time because the risk of misunderstanding and wasting time is lower. I, personally prefer to work with my colleagues in one place instead of sending messages and waiting for answers.