Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When doing research, it is better to use printed materials such as books and articles than it is to use the Internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important that students use the best available resource when they do their projects. Personally, I believe that printed materials are better than online articles for two reasons that will be explored in the following essay.

Firstly, printed materials like textbooks and academic journals are more reliable than online websites. This is because articles online can be edited by anyone regardless of whether they are qualified or not. As a result, many articles on various online encyclopedias contain wrong information. My personal experience demonstrates the danger of relying on such websites. Two semesters ago, I was assigned a paper in a freshman biology class. Thus, I cited the first online article I found on Wikipedia. However, the information included in my article turned out to be completely wrong and my professor spotted it immediately. Accordingly, I failed the assignment and got a fairly low grade. If I spent more time comparing the information in my paper with a reliable source like a textbook or an academic journal, I would have realized how incorrect and biased this online article was, and I wouldn’t have gotten such a terrible grade.

In addition, printed materials provide the required information in a more detailed and organized way. In other words, Textbooks have a reference index that could assist the researcher with collecting precise and detailed information for a specific topic. My own experience is a compelling example of this concept. Last year I was assigned an essay in a history class. Fortunately, the first textbook I consulted contained a long description of both the background and the long-termed effect of a historical event I was writing about. On the other hand, articles about the same topic contained just a little bit more than superficial facts and dates. For this reason, I believe that online articles are general knowledge without getting into depth. That’s why students can’t depend heavily on them when preparing their academic projects that require detailed information.

In conclusion, printed materials are a better source than online articles for academic projects. This is because they are less biased and don’t contain many errors as online articles. Also, printed materials approach the academic topics in-depth and with profound detailed facts and dates.