some people prefer to work more hours and get paid more, others prefer to work less and get paid less. which one do you prefer and why?

Whereas some people prefer to work more hours and get paid more, I’d rather work less and get paid less. I feel so for two reasons that I will explore in the ensuing essay.

Firstly, I achieve more with my kids’ well beings when I work fewer hours. In other words, I can take care of my family when my time is more flexible. I invest time in raising my sons and making sure of their well-being. Take my personal experience as a compelling example of this. I work part-time since I gave birth to my first son. Obviously, I’m a mom of two kids. My kids are still young and need most of my time. They can’t prepare their food on their own, and they need my help with their studies. Thus, their needs are fulfilled when I devote half of my time to their urges. Accordingly, I earn my paycheck from my part-time job, but I manage to cope with my children’s demands at the same time. If I didn’t exchange my full-time job with a part-time one, I wouldn’t have been able to balance my job and my family. Therefore, a part-time job with less paycheck is more rewarding for the physical and mental well-being of my children.

Secondly, although you get a lower paycheck, you can manage your time to enroll in courses that are beneficial for your career. To be specific, some courses require attendance in the middle of a working day. Thus, with more flexible working hours, it is possible to attend these courses without conflicting with your part-time job. This will have surprising results in your career. My friend’s experience is an illustration of this concept. She used to work as a full-time lecturer at the university. She was too busy that her week was occupied with many work-related tasks even on the weekend. This affected her career progress negatively. Not to mention, she couldn’t manage her time at all, because in her free hours, she was too exhausted to achieve any side task. However, this situation changed when she replaced her full-time job with a part-time job. Surprisingly, she was able to handle her time properly and finish her master’s degree. Because she had more time to study through the working week. Consequently, she got promoted to an assistant professor in a short time with a higher paycheck. If she didn’t work a part-time job, she wouldn’t have progressed quickly in her career.

To sum up, working a part-time job with less paycheck is better than a working full-time job. Not only because it’s crucial for my kids’ well-being, but it is also rewarding for career progress.