Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people succeed, it is entirely because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with their success. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

It is critically important that we work hard to become successful. However, I believe that hard work is not enough to succeed. We also need to be lucky. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, a lot of people gain success without putting in the time and the effort. The reason behind their accomplishments is simple: they are lucky. As much as it hurts to say this, luck is the defining factor for the direction of some people’s lives. For example, last year, my brother decided to start a business. At first, I predicted that his business will be unsuccessful, and he will go bankrupt. This was because I knew he did not have enough knowledge in this expertise to thrive. However, he proved me wrong and doubled his profits in just a year and hired additional employees to help him. Because I was taken aback by his accomplishment, I started to analyze his business models. Turns out, he had terrible ideas and plans, but he got lucky. Therefore, I believe that luck is the most important thing to have when you open a business.

Secondly, even if people work as hard as they can, they may not be able to accomplish anything. That would happen if they are unlucky. Unfortunately, in today’s world, it is impossible to become successful while being unlucky. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was in ninth grade, I had to prepare for the deciding exam at the end of the school year. That is why I studied for weeks to pass this exam. However, I did not have enough time to fully study the content that would be put in the exam. When I got the exam papers, I realized that most of the questions were based on materials that I was not able to study. Therefore, I wholeheartedly think that if you are unlucky, your hard work does not matter.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that being lucky is more important than working hard. This is because you can be successful with only luck and no effort, and you can fail because you are unlucky, even if you work hard.