Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the idea that group projects allow students to learn more effectively than working on projects along. There are three reasons to support my point of view, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First, a lot of students cannot focus on their work when working on projects with classmates. Unlike adults, youngsters are distracted easily. From instance, when I was in an elementary school, there was a group project using a dictionary. As we looked up the vocabularies assigned, we happened to see other words on the page such as "vacation" and started talking about our plans on the next vacation and the whole classes could not stop talking about unrelated topics. I remember my teacher got irritated afterwards because none of the group finished them on time, chatting one another. If we had been working on the project individually, we would have finished them before the class ended and learned better.

Second, there are always students who do not participate and get freeride. In a group, there is always at least one or two people get good grades without actually working on it because other members do all the works. When this circumstances continue, the friendships among classmates may collapse. At my high school, I had a group project on presentation about World War II. It required us to do a detailed research, make presentation and present to the class. One of our members did not participate in the project at all while doing research even though we assigned her to do specific part of it. On the presentation day, she just read the script we wrote aloud and we all got the same grade. I believe that this is very unfair and it is not beneficial for both us and her. We were stressed because of her and she did not learn anything from this project. Group project is not productive at all compared with individual work.

Thirdly, we can finish the project faster when working by ourselves. Group project require many discussions to make each decisions. It takes a lot of time and it would be much effective if students spend that discussion time to do more research individually.

In conclusion, I believe that working on projects alone is much more valuable than working with a group. This is because students are distracted very easily and there are people who get freeride in groups. What is more, we can spend time on other learning if the teacher does not assign group project.