Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the current educational system, students are exposed to various ways to absorb knowledge. Some people believe that launching group work contributes student to learning more effectively than completing the whole project individually. From where I stand, I do concur with this idea that working with peers highly promote students’ learning efficiency. I believe in this view for two reasons which I will explore further in the following essay.

To begin with, allocating different part of the project to group members boosts their learning efficiency. Facing a complicated and time-consuming project, it is more time-economic to divide the whole pictures into several part, which allows students to conduct at the same time. Moreover, students are able to fully utilize the time save to exchange ideas and learn new skills with other, promoting learning efficiency. My personal experience provides a compelling example to evidence this point of view. Last, the class was assigned into several groups to complete academic projects. In our group, every member took charge of a specific part of the projects simultaneously, leading to the quick progress. As a result, we completed the task ahead of the deadline and gained a valuable time to discuss, replay, polish the details and share experiences, during which each of us not only had the opportunity to introspect personal ability but also absorb new knowledge and hone skills from others. Contrarily, individual working basically could not have such chance to gain professional development.

Secondly, working together provides a scenario where inspirational and innovative ideas could happen, thereby encouraging students to think critically and promoting intellectual growth. While communicating or debating with peers, it is possible for students to generate new ideas and broaden vision. On contrast, individual students who are in a relatively information blocking and lack of stimulation learning environment are not accessible to innovation. For example, in the aforementioned case, our group had encountered a tricky problem in data calculation. However, with the fierce discussion and information sharing, the prototype of an innovative calculation method had gradually become the practical one, helping us to get out of the dilemma. In this progress, every member’s contribution to the whole project, indeed, is the representation of his or her personal professional development motivated by peer’s inspirations.

In sum, I still believe that students could learn more effectively when are assigned group works than working alone because of the high learning efficiency and peer’s inspirations.