Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that worker are more satisfied when they engage in multiple tasks during the workday as different tasks can provide them with an array of experiences, which will prevent them from getting bored. However, in my opinion, worker are more satisfied when they focus on one task during workday. I feel this way for 3 reasons, which I illustrate in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, people prefer to work on those task in which they are specialized in, and they can continue working on them for hours. They don’t get tired when they do things they like as they find joy in them. To illustrate by an example, my father, who is a stock market broker can spend hours looking at the charts for stocks. He spend almost all day analyzing and predicting the future prices of the stocks and doesn’t get bored. When I asked him why don’t he try something new he said his work in stock market is passion driven and would like to continue the work even after his retirement. This clearly shows that it is not necessary to enjoy work doing different things rather we can focus on ony task and enjoy.

Secondly, the more tasks workers get involved in the more likely they will get confused. Different tasks have diiferent methods that has to be learned before performing those tasks. If workers indulge in variety of tasks they will have to learn vast number of methods and processes, which can easily confuse them. For example, my interest is in Machine learning . One day, I tried learning app developement and frontend development along with machine learning, however, after few days I got confused with all the concepts that I learned, and ended up having only raw knowledge of the three subjects. If I had focused only on Machine learning, I would have in dept knowledge of it.

Thirdly, It is also difficult for the organization to allocate various tasks to a single employees. When companies hires employees they check their special skills and accordingly allocate them their groups. It comes much easier for the company to assign tasks based on one’s skill. For example, Google hires an app developer based on his Android skill, and Frontend developer based on his Javascript skills. After hiring Google can’t ask the Frontend developer to build an android app as he would not be able to build the app as good as the android developer.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that workers should focus on one task and master them. This is because they will enjoy the task once they have an indept knowledge of it, and would not get confused; it is also better for the organization.