Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world, especially in developed countries, people have a great influence on their destiny and can shape the future of their society. While some believe that young people do not have a considerable effect on their society, others think otherwise. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that young people have a significant influence on the critical decisions that determine their society's future. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, in many countries, youths can take part in the elections, or if not, they can affect their parents' vote in the elections. I mean, there are many countries all over the world that people can vote by the age of fifteen. When young people are allowed to vote, they have a significant influence on their society's future because this is how the governments determine the future. Furthermore, those who are not able to vote yet can significantly affect their parents' votes. Nowadays, parents care about their children so much and listen to them. If children feel that some laws are against them, they can convince their parents to vote against those particular laws. For example, a few years ago, there was an election in my country as to whether the age of driving should be increased to 21 from eighteen. Youths could not participate in that election, but they easily convinced their parents that it is not good for them, and they do not like to wait until 21 for driving. The parents voted against the rule, and the legal age for driving remained eighteen.

Second, thanks to easy access to the internet and social networks, young people have a better connection together and can be unified easily. When the government enacts some rules against them without voting, they will soon be aware of it through the internet. Also, because they are in touch with each other by social networks, they will back each other. Sometimes they can arrange protests and rallies to express their opinions. My example illustrates this reality. About ten years ago, when I was a juvenile, the government wanted to put a rule against the youths. They wanted to ban people under the age of 24 from going to bars. Young people throughout the country became aware of the supposed rule through a few websites on the internet. All youths were against this law and wanted to oppose it. The formed groups on Facebook and communicate about the ways to objects this decision. They finally started a rally against it for two weeks all over the country. They insisted so much that the government had to retreat from its position and did not put that rule.

In conclusion, with this taken into account, I strongly believe that nowadays, young people have great importance on the crucial decisions that determine the future of the society. They can participate in elections or affect those who have the right to vote. Moreover, they get aware of the decisions and express their opinion with the help of now available technologies.