Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Over the past three decades, remarkable progress has been made in teenagers’ understanding of the world and society. There is a long-running debate within the concept of whether teenagers play a pivotal role in the future of society or not. While some people hold the opinion that their impacts are undeniable, others believe that they have no power to change society's destiny. I, personally, concur with the earlier group because of two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First of all, current youngsters are wholly more aware of political and social events than teenagers were in the past. As a matter of fact, they access state-of-the-art means of communication and networking channels. Therefore, they are aware of their determining role in social and political issues since they consist a big part of a country's population. Their perspective about current world affairs are dramatically changed by cautiousness of news and daily events. On the other hand, youngsters just cared about their education or playing with friends in the past decades. My personal experience can bring this notion home. When I was a high school student, the sole fact that I knew about political condition was our country's president's name. In contrast, my seven-year-old son has a lot of information even about foreign politics such as other president's notions and lectures.

Second, everybody knows that the government pays much more attention to young people today as they know the young’s importance in determining societies' future. In fact, young strata would be the adult part of the near future in every country. It is clear that they can determine society's future by their decision and votes in election events. In addition, parents are more aware of their children’s significant role in the country's fate, thereby imparting their political and social knowledge to them. As an illustration, consider a mother who thinks that her child would be an essential agent in the government. Therefore, she gives her son all facts about social issues. That child would obviously be a determiner factor in society in the near future. The more information about current affairs children have, the more their role would be stronger.

To wrap up, with all these reasons taken into account, I do believe that contemporary teenagers are more involved in society than they were in the past era. That is because, they have more information about society’s issues through social media, and the government and parents also consider them as pivotal agents in the country’s fate.