Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All scientific discoveries should be shared by the whole world: governments and businesses should not keep the scientific discoveries secret.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your argument.

Nowadays, many people argue that governments and companies should not hide something to the public and appeal for opening the access to all scientific discoveries for every individual. However, I believe that sharing every scientific discovery with the public is not a wise choice.

Admittedly, citizens have the right to know important scientific disclosures which are relevant to their life, namely some medical developments because it can benefit them. For example, if scientists find that eating certain vegetables has negative effects on human being, this finding should not be kept secret because it may harm other people. However, it is an overstatement to say that all scientific findings should be shared to the whole world. To some extents, it may even have certain drawbacks.

First, some scientific discoveries, if revealed, may threaten the public security. Clearly, if some scientific findings that can be used to harm people, are learned by terrorists or antisocial people, the citizens in certain countries will be no more safe, because those potential criminals may take advantage of those findings to hurt people. For example, it was reported that in 2008, a Japanese man learned the way of making one kind of deadly gases from a chemical paper revealed on the Internet. Then he established an illegal organization that aimed to produce this kind of fatal gases and used the gases produced to attack people in one subway, poisoning hundreds of people to death.

Second, sharing all discoveries may hold back the development of science and technology. As is generally accepted, businesses spend money conducting scientific researches in order to earn more profits and governments devote resources to science for the sake of competing with other countries. Keeping the scientific discoveries they make enables them to have the edge over their competitors. In this case, if they are demanded to share all their scientific findings without any compensation they may lose their motivation to develop science, which will clearly lead to the decrease of scientific development. For instance, a local car company in the city I live was reputed for advanced technologies. However, in order to promote local economy, the local government voted to force it share all this discoveries with other companies that produce cars in that area. After that, this company chose to no longer spend any money on research and finally all of automobile companies in this area shrank and even went bankrupt for lack of technological edges.

In conclusion, to disclose all scientific discoveries kept by governments and businesses may threaten our society and hinder technology growth. Therefore, I think that sharing every scientific discovery by the whole world is not a wise choice.