People in daily lives would frequently do the jobs that need creativity, such as the job you have never done before. Under this circumstance, do you prefer to work alone or work with others?

Nowadays, people often come across some tasks, which need them to handle with creativity. Some individuals choose to work on their own in this circumstance, while I am inclined to working with others.

First, cooperating with others will be more efficient. As is generally accepted, everyone has strengths and weaknesses, so people may not complete the task well if affected by their shortcomings when doing the job alone. Meanwhile, a team can avoid this kind of negative effects because all group members can do what they are good at and avoid doing things relevant to their shortcomings. In this case, a team can do this new work with a higher efficiency compared to an individual. For example, once I had to organize a small event in the Department of Mathematics. At the beginning, I planned to do it alone and did well in the preparation part but had no idea with how to advertise this event. In this case, I built up a group with a student major in advertisement, who helped me design the posters, and another one major in Art, who helped me draw the posters and put them In school. As a result, we completed the organization of the event, which was expected to be finished by myself for 5 days, within only 2 days and appealed many students to participating.

Second, we can glean more information about the work with more people and hence do this job better. Creativity is based on former experiences and a little bit innovation, so if we gather more information relevant to what we need to do, we may come up with a better approach to solve it. Clearly, a group of people can gather more information at a time compared to a single person, therefore teamwork can do the task better. For example, my brother was asked to write a paper about the dragon in certain television series in his biology class. He was permitted to form a group with three people while some students chose to do on their own. During those days, he and his team members watched that series once and once again and gained a lot of information. Moreover, they study a large number of papers about other animals relevant to dragon. In this case, they found a good aspect to finish their job whereas those who did the paper alone did not perform well.

In conclusion, we can do things better and more efficiently if we work in a group. Therefore, I prefer to work with others.