You may choose between two professors who will be teaching a course that you must take at your university. If the following statements are the only information available to you about the differences between the two professors, which professor would you choose? Why?

- A professor who proves to be very popular in students’ evaluations

- A professor who was recently given an award for outstanding research.

In some universities, a single course may be taught by more than one professor, so students have to make a choice between them. Some people may choose a popular professor while I am inclined to selecting a professor who was given an award for excellent research in recent days.

First, you can learn better in a course taught by that kind of professor. Clearly, a professor who is able to finish an outstanding research tends to have a high-level comprehension of knowledge in his field and know the up-to-date information about this subject. In this case, he can teach this course by an advanced viewpoint and give students more useful materials than other professors. Moreover, those professors may be more familiar with the problems in this course, so if students have hard nuts to crack about the course, the professor can always give a detailed explanation to them. Therefore, students can learn much better about the course. For example, my Real Analysis is taught by Prof. Zhang, who was just awarded for her researches in the past several years. She often explains the class materials from a different point of view, which enables us to understand elusive concepts easily, and sometimes she gives some extra useful materials she writes or carefully selects for us. Once I asked her about a troublesome problem which I tried for couple of days, she answered that in detail and told me how she analyzed that question, which greatly improves my comprehension about the items taught in class.

Besides, a professor with a high reputation in research may bring you some extra opportunities. A professor bestowed with an award often enjoys a high academic reputation and in this case, he may know many persons in that field. In this case, if you take courses taught by him, he may use his connections to help you or to give you some valuable chances. For instance, my sister took a biology class taught by a professor with many research rewards given recently. In that course, the professor often brought his students to observe some importance samples held by his research partners instead of just letting students see pictures in the textbook. Besides, due to her outstanding performance in this course, my sister was recommended to be an intern in a famous biology lab cooperating with the professor, which was undoubtedly a precious chance for her.

Admittedly, the popularity of certain professor partly reveals the attitudes of students who take his/her course towards him/her. However, in fact, being popular in students’ evaluation does not necessarily mean that the professor is good because the professor may just give them a good grade or provide easy materials for students.

In conclusion, a professor good at research can help you learn better and give you more opportunities while a popular professor may not be as good as you imagine. Therefore, I prefer to take course taught by professors who was recently given an award for excellent research.