Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their filed of study.

We have entered on the era where education systems are striving to adapt to the constant change in the world, and the fact is that the standard which universities and the society hold to students nowadays has become higher than any time before. People in growing numbers are beginning to support the idea that basic science courses should be mandatory to all college students. As for me, I agree with such proposal for the following reasons.

The first reason I would put forward is that, basic science knowledge helps students achieve success in their own study filed. Basic science is not like high-level science, they are some principles and theorems that can be used to explain many phenomena happened in this world, and they are essential. Thus, basic science can be combined with other subjects, and many problems can be better solved with basic science knowledge. A prime example from my own experience may shed some light on this point. In one of my art history class last year, we discussed about fresco panting, and none of us could figured out the question of why frescos should be finished in short time. Finally, I found one of the materials used in frescos painting was plaster, and it suddenly came to me that plaster is a kind of material which will dry quickly if put into the air. Fresco must be draw upon fresh wet plaster, and it must be done before plaster get dry. That is the reason it should be finished quickly! Without basic chemistry knowledge I gained from my chemistry class, I wouldn’t have solved such question in my art history class.

Another strong reason I support the provided statement is that, understanding basic science brings you a colorful life. There is no denying the fact that science exists in our daily life, and they are everywhere – in the healthy diet diagram you read, in the technology report you just saw, in the new amazon echo you bought and so on, and if you don not get familiar with them, you will be unfamiliar with this fast changing world. Take my grandpa for example, he was not interested in computer and never used it before. Since he took the basic computer science course at our local community college last year, he has been fond of playing it. He began to use searching engine online and find everything he interested in. Basic computer knowledge definitely made my grandpa’s life more polychrome.

Essentially, obtaining basic science knowledge not only contributes to our academic success, but also bring positive effects to our daily life. Hence, the importance of basic science courses should not be underestimated in universities.