If you were offered two jobs, one has average paid and you work normal hours (40 hours a week), the other one has much higher salary but you need to work longer hours. Which one would you choose? State your reasons.

When have entered in the era where most people chasing for high productivity and high profit. There is no denying the fact that people in growing numbers are beginning to devote their personal time to work in order to get higher salaries. Contrary to those people who care more about money, I tend to consider work hours more. I would choose average paid with normal hours work because I think less work hours provide me with more leisure time to stay with my family and enlarge my social network.

Less working allows me to spend more time with my family. There is a popular adage nowadays goes like: Family is God’s way of taking care of you. No matter how unfair and mean this world has treated you, family always functions as a person’s haven, and it is where all loves comes from. As S.Aleichen once said, Money is round, and it rolls away. In my opinion, family should always be put in the first place when you making every decision. Take my father for example, he used to have a heavy job and working overtime was a routine. This had made my mother tired of fixing up household and finally had a bed illness. After that, my father quit his job and found a new one with more vacation to accompany us, and we spend a lot of delighted time together. Thus, light work is more worthy compared to heavy work as one can spend more time with his family.

Less working offers me more chances to go out and make different friends, and thus, enlarge my social network, which is vital in my whole career life. Helen Keller once said, walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light. Friends always play an important role in our life and career and they are the key factor of one’s success. A prime example of my own experience may shed some light on this point. I met my best friend when I was spending my vacation with my family. She is definitely an important person I would ask for advice when making a decision, and she offered me lots help when I was applying for an intern outside the university. Thus, more leisure time get from a lighter job can extend your social network and benefit your career life.

Above all, I would definitely choose average paid with normal hours work. Essentially, without heavy work, I can get a close family relationship and enlarge social network contributes directly to my career.