Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We all know that failures is the best part of our live to improve ourselves. Without failures, ones life will be shallow and dull. Same to our society, people have to learn from the lessons of histories to make improvements. Personally, I strongly agree with the prompt that all university students have to take history courses.

First of all, only by studying history can college students cherish their societies. People like

to blame and complain when they do not see what they already have. Centuries ago, there were wars and resistances that made everyday life difficult. Today, because of the ancestors who had sacrificed for a better society, can we live on a piece land. If college students do not receive histories educations, they soon will forget what they have learnt in previous education. And no longer they will cherish the lives they have.

In addition to cherishing lives, learning histories teaches college students to respect people form different ethnicities and religions. We learn about how the countries and religions affect one another around the world in history. There are times when Eastern countries are stronger so are the Westerners. Which explains that all countries in the world is equal, non of them is always the best. Therefore, if college students all take history classes, they can learn to respect others.

Last but not least, studying histories gives college students bigger chances to make breakthroughs. For thousands of years, humans have been creating new technology and new thoughts. These breakthroughs helps give us the chance to live a better live and explore new things. By learning histories, college students are standing on the shoulders of giants therefore they can see farther.

Viewing from the opposite perspective, some people claims that not all college students should be required to take history courses. However, I think it is our responsibility to learn about the country, the world that we are living in. To learn the lessons from the mistakes our ancestors had made, and try to build a better tomorrow.