Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The society is no longer the same as our parent's generation. Due to the rapid advance of technology and Internet, many ideas and values have been changed. Rules that once were strict are not as how they were nowadays. In my opinion, the rules that societies expect young people to follow and obey are not strict at all.

First of all, attending college is no longer necessary. Internet and technology are growing intensely fast, which contribute to many jobs to be gone and new jobs are created. According to this phenomenon, college diplomas are not as worthy as before. Even though the society still expect young people to attend college, so that they hold a better chance to find jobs with higher income, young people can still prove themselves by creating their own businesses online.

In addition to education, moving out to live on their own is important for young people to learn to be independent. For many parents in the US, it is common to let their kids move out at the age of eighteen. Some people might claim that it is too harsh for young adults to move out as they graduated from high school. But this is for the good, and things are easier nowadays because they can find solutions online.

For instance, they can have the chance to fix the broken light bulbs with their own hands, and not to rely on their parents.

Viewing from the opposite perspective, some people dispute it and stress that young people nowadays are living under a more difficult society. For one thing, it is still uneasy to find a job without college diploma. Also, the economy is not well, young people can not afford the extend living costs. These make it harder to follow the rules that societies expect. However, These are minor problems that can be easily solved by the Internet today. Many people follow these society rules and still live favorable lives.