Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In regard to whether all university students should be forced to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Some argue that history is a fundamental subject that everyone needs to obtain, others think that it is totally unnecessary and a waste of time. Yet, my personal experience and real-life observation have lead me to conclude with the latter. My arguments for this point is listed as follows.

To start with, requiring students to take courses out of their major can add additional pressure on them. As every student's condition varies individually to individually, some students already have redundant projects, researches, and extra-curricular activities that are still in progress or already scheduled. To force them to take extra classes will only add more burden on one. Take students that are pursuing a career as an athlete for example. It is unlikely that an athlete would benefit on taking history lecturers and, instead, it is squandering their precious time on training. As a result, for certain students, taking history courses might even cause negative effects.

In addition, for students that study in majors highly connected to history and students that have a strong interest in history should take the history course, since it can provide one to have a more comprehensive picture of the past. For instance, majors such as philosophy and art history are both connected with history. Students in these departments should be required to take history course to provide them with a firm foundation. The knowledge of history could act as a formula impulsing them to go further and dig deeper in the field. As a result, schools need to determine which majors should be required and which of those should not.

In conclusion, taking into account these reasons, whereas history courses can broaden one's horizons, schools should highly recommend students to take it, not by requiring them, only if their major is highly linked to the field of history.