Your friends have the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors (fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?

-a major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so that he would begin to work full-time quickly)

-a major that requires many years of study that would provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future

In contemporary society, people have witnessed huge social changes in our daily life. Everyone is seeking for success, but what is the key that can lead one to success. Today, a general question about what one should decide for their fields of study has been brought up to the center of hot debates. Some might state selecting a major that can get a degree sooner can give you the opportunity to work earlier, while some insist that deciding a major that can give you a better chance to be employed would be more preferable. As far as I am concerned, I express my appreciation with the latter.

To start with, school is the source of knowledge and one student's foundation. Our main goal to attend to universities is not to receive a degree only, but really obtain and absorb the knowledge and skills we can cultivate in the school. Take my own experience for an example, I study in the landscape architecture field in university. In school, we have outstanding facilities and faculties that provide us abundant resources to utilize. As a major like landscape architecture, there are plenty of aspects to learn, from city planning to the rural area, from agriculture to the ecologic system. Without deep training and techniques from mentors, it is unlikely that one student can contribute much to a company in the long run. Moreover, some teachers even encourage us to study master in foreign countries, since it can broaden our vision.

In addition, the environment we live in today is accelerated by technology development and peer competition. It is necessary to secure a major that can lead to a promising future. To illustrate, every parent would definitely hope their children to have great success in the future. Under this circumstance, recently more and more children are forced into studying in a major like engineering, computer science, international trading, and so on. From the past experience, if one can obtain abilities and knowledge from these fields, one can have a better chance of finding a job with high payment.

Admittedly, everything has two sides and some may claim that graduating earlier can provide one more time to decide whether it is the right path to go on. For instance, many young adults suffer from selecting the wrong job and end up switching work duties rapidly. However, if one can find their true interest in the university, it is unlikely that one will make the same mistake again. And, as I have mentioned above, without sufficient support and professional background, one cannot survive in the environment full of pressure today.

All in all, taking into accounts of these factors, holding a major that can enable one to have a better chance to success can overweigh the benefits of a specific field of study that can only guarantee earlier degree. That is not to say that other opinions are totally out of merits. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that my points of view are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.