Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although I have to admit that telling the truth can display a person's sincere, I disagree with the statement. There are several reasons for this argument.

Firstly, to maintain a healthy relationship, we must consider other people's feelings and take care of them, which require more than often tactful words, or even expressions that are not always the same with facts. This is not deceit, in my opinion. Instead, it represents our attention and love towards friends as well as our kindness. For example, when one of my friends, who doesn't have many gifts for literature creation, wrote a poem and showed it to me expectantly, I concealed my genuine thoughts and praised her as a talented poet. My friend was both delightful and thankful, and our friendship became more robust. If I told the truth in that situation, it would just hurt my friend's feelings and damage this relationship without offering me any benefits.

Secondly, lying to people out of good will can bring about more desirable results than merely describing the factual events sometimes. Consider the following circumstance - a teacher finds out that the intellectual level of one of his students is below average. Instead of telling the truth, he treats the student with excessive patience, and always encourages that child to keep on trying without giving up on himself. The student, who gain confidence and perseverance from the teacher's instructions, finally succeed and make great achievements. Stories of this kind can be discovered in both real life and many films. Another famous example is doctors who hide the actual physical conditions from the patients. Once, a patient was diagnosed with one kind of cancer, but her doctor, believing in the power of psychological self-suggestion, kept telling her the disease was barely some minor illness. Eventually, the patient made a miraculous recovery. By refusing to speak the truth, the teacher and the doctor helped others more.

To sum up, always telling the truth is absolutely not the essential component of a high-quality relationship, and we, in many situations, need to tell some white lies.