Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Sports and social activities are important parts of our lives. They give us the chance to get familiar with other people, their beliefs, and cultures. Some people think universities should pay the same for these activities as they do to academic activities. Others disagree with this point of view. I belong to the former group, and I will elaborate on my reasons for the rest of this essay.

First, students learn valuable communication skills through these activities. They learn how to cooperate with other people and work as a teammate. These are important skills in life and are appreciated in the real world of business. For example, when I was studying at the University of Tehran, I enrolled in a hiking team. We were about 20 students who went on hiking every Fridays. It was a good experience. I learned how to work on a team when setting up a camp or searching for a shelter, how to find solutions for a dispute between members, and in general how to get along with different people with different attitudes. This is why I think such activities matter and deserve financial support.

Second, sports and social activities may enhance students’ self-confidence. Sports not only make students bodies stronger but they also improve their mental health. Thus, they have better perceptions about themselves. Therefore, their academic performance can improve. For instance, when I was at the University of Tehran, I attended the gym regularly. It really helped to be in shape. As a result, I felt good about myself. I felt I was handsome and charming. This gave me the courage to be active in my classes. I participated actively in every class discussion. And I think part of this was due to the good feelings that I had about myself.

In conclusion, I agree with those who proposed that sports and social activities are just as important as academic activities. Sports and social activities provide students with the chance to promote their communication skills. They also make students more healthy, both physically and mentally. I think it is important that universities do not underestimate these activities.