Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Jobs are important in our lives. They give us the financial ability to meet our basic needs such as food, clothing and shelter. Some people think it was easier to find a good job in the past. Others disagree with this point of view. I agree with the latter group. I think it is easier to find a job with successful future nowadays, and I will elaborate on my reasons in the rest of this essay.

First, there are many useful websites, magazines and books that provide expert analysis about future job market of different careers. Most of such resources did not exist in the past, or if they did it was not as easy as today to access their content. For example, when I was graduated in economics from University of Tehran about four years ago, I signed in a couple of websites that send me regular bulletins about available positions in economics job market. They also gave me additional information about working hours, salaries and specifications required. Finally, after careful evaluations I made my decision and I am happy about it. I think if it were not for the information these websites provided for me I would not have my job today.

Second, there are also professional institutions that publish job market projections for variety of careers. They use advanced mathematical approaches to forecast different aspects of job market. For example how many economists will be needed in next ten years, or what will be their average salary. These statistical information can help everybody to make a better decision about their future jobs. For instance, when I was at university, I often checked the Federal Reserve. It helped me to anticipate the future better. I chose development economics as my major because I thought it would have good job prospects when I graduate. And it had. In fact, when I was graduated I find a proper job in in my field in less than a month. And I partly owe it to the good information that Federal Reserve and other similar institutions had provided.

In conclusion, I think it is easier now to find a job with good future. It is mainly because of the enormous websites, magazines and books that provide expert analysis about different careers. And also professional institutions that provide us with statistical projections about future job markets. I think we are fortunate to live in the era of communication boom.