Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Colleges should require freshman students to take a class on how to study in college.

Obviously, when students enter a college for the first time, they are extremely nervous, for they know nothing about the college. They will encounter all kinds of difficulties. It will be very helpful, if there are some tips about colleges for students. As far as I am concerned, freshman students are not supposed to take a class on how to study in college.

First, freshman students do not have enough time to take this kind of class. As we know students are extremely busy everyday, especially freshman students have to take more classes than other students. When I was a freshman student, I needed to take various classes from 8 o’clock in the morning to 9 o’clock in the evening, which made me really tired and stressed out. Basically, I did not have much spare time to take a break. Unfortunately, I was forced to take this kind of class, I was not happy and I did not listen to my teacher carefully. Even worse, I fell asleep during the class sometimes. As a result, I learned nothing from the class. However, I was much more exhausted than before. Thus, this class is unnecessary for freshman students.

Second, besides the class, freshman students can know about how to study in college in other ways. For example, they are able to ask professors or senior and junior students for help. Because these people have been colleges for several years, they comprehend the colleges very well. Moreover, since the development of internet, freshman students are capable of searching some information on the internet as well. There are plenty of people share their college experience on their social media. Therefore, requiring freshman students to take a class to learn how to study in college is not a good idea.

Third, the class is not suitable for every student is another reason why I disagree with the statement. There is no doubt that everyone is unique. Since every freshman student might meet different problems, not every student can be beneficial from this class. For instance, I was not good at time management during my spare time when I was a freshman student. In contrast, my roommate Janis had a difficulty in taking notes during the class. Accordingly, joining a class does not really teach freshman students on how to study in college.

As the three reasons mentioned above, it is easy to draw the conclusion that in order to understand how to study in college, asking freshman students to take a class is not a best solution.