Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

hen it comes to the problem that educating children today is more difficult than it was in the past, people holds different points of view. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement that it is more difficult for parents to teach their children today because of the invention of cell phone and social networking Web site and children spend too much time on them. On the other hand, I think those technology offer another way for parents to teach their children. I feel this way based on my own experience and the reasons is illustrated as below.

To begin with, using social networking Web site helps a child learn to communicate with other children. I believe a well-round development of a children should not be limited on academic knowledge but also social skills. On the social networking Web, children share their feeling and recent events with their peers. And their peers give feedbacks to them. With this trendy communicated tool, children learn how to represent their own ideas with friends and become more confident, especially for those children who get nervous easily when talking with others face to face. Take my sister for example, she used to be a shy kid who has a talent in art. However, when she starts to use facebook to share her drawing with others on the Internet, she becomes happier and willing to express her views. Those feedbacks from friends are also an encouragement for her to create more drawing.

Despit the fact that using cell phone for a long period hurts children's eyes, it is an opportunity to teach children to be responsible for their own behaviors. For example, parents can discuss and make an agreement with children for the length of time they can use cell phones in a day and give some punishment when children break the agreement. Instead of restricting children from using cell phone, it offers a great chance for them to discipline.