Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.Use specific reasons and examples t

Parents are no doubt to agree that education is a crucial thing for a child when they be mature. However, that is where the agreement stops. When it comes to the problem that new technology such as cell phone is beneficial or harmful to a child, parents hold different points of view. In my opinion, rather than hurting children, those technology offer a new way for parents to teach their children. I feel this way based on my own experience and the reasons is illustrated as below.

To begin with, using social networking Web site helps a child learn to communicate with other children. I believe a well-round development for a children should not be limited on academic knowledge but also social skills. On the social networking Web site, children share their feeling and recent events with their peers. And their peers give feedbacks to them. With this trendy communicated tool, children learn how to represent their own ideas and become more confident, especially for those children who get nervous easily when talking with others face to face. Take my sister for example, she used to be a shy kid who has a talent in art. However, when she starts to use facebook to share her drawing with others on the Internet, she becomes happier and willing to express her views. Those feedbacks from friends are also an encouragement for her to create more drawing.

In addition, despite the fact that using cell phone for a long period hurts children's eyes, it is an opportunity to teach children to be responsible to their own behaviors. For example, parents can discuss and make an agreement with children for how long a day they can use cell phones in a day and give some punishment when children break the agreement. Instead of restricting children from using cell phone, it offers a great chance for them to discipline. Not only cell phone, but also online games, too. Take my brother for example, he made a deal with my father to play online games an hour a day after finishing homework when he was in high school. Because he was obsessed with online games, the first thing he did after school was doing homework. In the end, he graduated high school with the first prize. No one know he won the prize because of online games. So, are you still saying playing online game is bad for a child?