Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them in the past; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives for the following reasons.

To begin with, the usage of the Internet has spread to the world, making this generation an "information exploded era". In the past, young people have no such technology, so they must ask for elders' opinions. However, they can get almost all the information they need for making decisions by opening a website, typing keywords, and clicking the search button. For example, while I was choosing which university to enroll, I didn't let my parents decide it. Instead of asking them for the information which they may also have no idea as I did, I search the detail on the Internet by myself. I did it due to not only the Internet's convenience but also its accuracy.

Moreover, society has changed. Society used to be so traditional that there is limited space for young people to venture. In the past, parents often tell their children to make the decision which is the only way can reach success, such as choosing to be an engineer or a doctor as their career. However, society becomes more creative and more open-minded nowadays. There are abundant of jobs which are absent in the past, such as user experience designer. Young people are able to make decisions about their own lives because parents may not be familiar with those new options that youngers can choose.

With those reasons I have mentioned above, I wholeheartedly agree with the statement that young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives today while they depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them in the past.