Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since Watt invented and modified the steam engine, automobiles, especially car, become necessities that almost every human beings. Without doubt, it is one of the greatest invention in the human history, eliminating the inconvenience of traveling. However, in my opinion, the decrease usage of cars is predictable twenty years later due to the reason of which I am going to address.

First of all, as the technology advanced, replacement of cars is foreseeable. History would repeat itself. For example, just as horse was replaced by the steam motored cars, now seems everywhere viechles would be outdated in the future. A more advanced and efficient tool or technique would be invented by clever scientists. Accordingly, despite there would still be users who prone to old technology, the total amount of cars would drastically decrease in twenty years.

Secondly, as the awareness of environmental protection, people start to decrease the usage of vehicles relying on petrol fuel. Besides, some of the governments around the world already launch such policy. For instance, Taiwan, recently announce the policy which would provide tax discount and benefit to those who are willing to take eco-friendly vehicles such public transportations powered by electricity.

Lastly, cars market is too competitive that most of the major car producing firm are considering launching new product to make profits. For example, Ford, a predominant company in the automobiles market, announces that they will reduce the production lines in Asia due to the increasing cost of employees, metals, and shipment. Besides, they also acquired a new company, Gogoro, a startup producing motor scooter powered by electricity, and construct several new factory for this kind of eco-friendly vehicle. Therefore, there is no doubt that the number of cars will decrease in the following years.

Industries of cars has been flourished since 18th centuries. Human society cannot become what it is nowadays without the help of cars but as I point out, the decrease and fall of cars are foreseeable within the following years.